Harrison County Regional Sewer District

November 17, 2023 Meeting Minutes

Meeting Date: October 20, 2023

8:30 am

Harrison County Community Foundation building

Corydon, IN 47112

In Attendance:

Tom Tucker Board Member (President)
Gary Davis Board Member (VP/Treasurer)

Charlie Crawford Board Member

Dave Coburn Board Member (Town of Corydon)

Tony Combs Board Member (Secretary)

Dan Lee, P.E. Board Member

Bill Byrd Board Member (Town of Milltown)

Chris Byrd Board Attorney
Mike Amburn Aqua Utility Services
Bob Woosley, P.E. Heritage Engineering
Matt Robinson, P.E.

Absent:

Darin Duncan, P.E. Board Member

Herb Schneider Board Member (Town of Lanesville)

Steve Tolliver Aqua Utility Services
Aaron Tolliver Aqua Utility Services

Guests:

Bruce Kennedy New Salisbury Resident

*Town voting member. (2023 vote will belong to the Town of Milltown) (Order of voting: 2023 – Milltown, 2024 – Lanesville, 2025 - Corydon)

Action Items:

- Executive Session: An executive session of the Board was held prior to the start of the regular meeting. The executive session was held to discuss ongoing litigation. No action was taken during the executive session. The executive session ended at 8:30 am.
- **2.** October 20, 2023 HCRSD Board Meeting Minutes: Motion made by Bill Byrd, second by Charlie Crawford, to approve the meeting minutes. Motion approved unanimously.
- **3. Berkshire WWTP Expansion Project:** Bob Woosley informed the Board the IDEM Construction Permit was extended. Construction must now begin by January 20, 2025.

- 4. Berkshire WWTP Operations Report (October): Mike Amburn presented the October operations report. All parameters were met for the month of October. A motion was made by Dan Lee, seconded by Tony Combs to accept the October operations report. Motion approved unanimously.
- 5. Lanesville Interchange Rate Ordinance No. 2023-03 (Capacity Fees): At the Boards October meeting Herb Schneider informed the Board the Town of Lanesville recently increased their capacity fees. As a result the District needs to increase their fees to keep in line. The District currently charges less than the new rates approved by the Town. Chris Byrd introduced Ordinance No. 2023-03 which will increase the capacity fees charged to new customers at the Lanesville interchange. The fee will be increased at a minimum to match the Town's new rate or may be increased an additional amount to offset future capacity upgrades that may be needed to the District's infrastructure. A decision on the final amount of the increase will be presented during the public hearing to be held. A motion was made by Bill Byrd, seconded by Charlie Crawford to set a public hearing date for December 15, 2023 at 8:30 am. Chris Byrd will submit all items for advertisement of the public hearing. Motion approved unanimously.

6. Treasurers Report

- **a. Treasurer's Report:** Gary Davis presented the Treasurer's Report. *Motion made by Dan Lee, seconded by Charlie Crawford, to approve the Treasures report. Motion approved unanimously.*
- **b.** Claims: Motion made by Gary Davis, second by Tony Combs, to pay the following claims. Motion approved unanimously.

District Checking Account:

The state of the s	
i. Harrison REMC-WWTP electric service	\$1,506.17
ii. Duke Energy – lift station electric service	\$52.53
iii. Bose McKinney – property acquisition for WWTP	\$16,860.50
iv. Town of Corydon – October sewer bills	\$12,328.26
v. Lanesville Utilities – October sewer bills	\$20,768.76
vi. Aqua Utility Services – WWTP Op., LS Maint., Misc. Maint.	\$8,443.89
vii. Church Langton Loop & Banet – attend Board meeting	\$432.50
viii. Heritage Eng. – Retainer/web site/other services	\$3,175.40
ix. Infinity Homes – sewer deposit refund	\$300.00
x. Steve Thieneman Builders – sewer deposit refund	\$150.00
xi. Lamar & Virginia Miller - sewer deposit refund	\$150.00

Next Meeting:

Regular Board Meeting: **December 15, 2023 at 8:30 am** at the Harrison County Community Foundation.

Minutes prepared by: Heritage Engineering.

End of Minutes

Approved by:	
Tom Tucker, President	Charlie Crawford
Gary Davis, V.P./Treasurer	Dan Lee, P.E.
Tony Combs, Secretary	Darin Duncan, P.E.
Bill Byrd, Town Representative	